Waterloo’s Jobmine process and my first co-op internship

I just finished my first internship — since it’s my first ever “real” full-time job, I feel it’s a rite of passage of some sort.

The internship, or co-op work term, lasted 4 months from January to April. My position was titled “Software Developer”, and the company I worked for was TutorJam, a small educational startup in Kitchener.

The Jobmine Process

Like most students at Waterloo, I found my job through Jobmine. The process was intimidating at first: the whole slew of resumes, interviews, jobmine cycles, ranking systems, etc, were a lot to take in. But as I brushed up my resume and tentatively submitted a few cover letters, I began to relax a little.

In the end, I applied to 25 jobs (the limit is 50 applications). Most of these were in the Kitchener-Waterloo area, mainly because I leased a house here and didn’t want to relocate. Out of these 25 positions, 5 of them were cancelled before the interview stage. Out of the 20 jobs remaining, I got interviewed for 10 of them.

The interviews came and went, and in the end, 4 of the 10 companies that interviewed me gave me an offer. So I had the good fortune to take my pick between 4 jobs, any one of which I’d be happy working for. I ended up simply picking the job that looked the most interesting.

The Internship

During the 4 months, I worked on a site called YuJa. It’s an “online video collaboration platform”, but I like to describe it to my friends as “kind of like D2L but with lots of videos”. Here’s a picture of the login page of the website:

The team was very small — there were 2 co-op students and 2 full time developers, so essentially we had 4 programmers and 1 manager working on the entire project. As a result, I was entrusted with developing whole features by myself, both the frontend and backend — something rather unusual for a first time co-op.

The project is built with the standard HTML/CSS/Javascript/jQuery on the frontend, and used WildFly on the backend (basically a Java based server). When I started, I was proficient with the Java programming language, but had very little experience with web development (like HTML/CSS/JS). Initially the learning curve was quite steep, but I quickly picked up the skills I was missing.

In the first week, I fixed minor bugs and implemented small improvements, in order to “learn the ropes”. In the second week, I was assigned my first major feature. Essentially it allowed a professor to quickly send a group message to everyone in a class, and the students would receive it by email and SMS. Before the end of the month, my feature was complete.

Here’s a picture of my office (my computer is on the right, the guy on the left is Samson, another co-op student):

There were only the two of us physically present in this room in Kitchener — the company is spread out between several cities across North America. Thus all of our communications were done remotely, via Google talk. Another consequence of this was that in order to keep everyone in the same time zone, we were required to work from noon to 8pm.

Conclusion

All in all, my first internship was a positive experience, as I learned a lot and worked with very smart people. I learned how to work my way around a large codebase, also got a taste of what a startup is like. I suppose the only downside was that there was almost no social activity.

Hopefully I haven’t violated any company NDA by writing this post.

This sums up my co-op experience. Starting this week, I will be doing another 4 month study term (2B Computer Science) until August.

Leave a Reply

